Are there lower grade routes on Shetland?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
    #10531 |

Dear All,
    I may soon be relocating to Shetland having recently been offered a job close to Lerwick. Im a fairly novice but rapidly improving wall climber, mid thirties male. Touring the island Im concerned most routes are Extreme or Severe grades. Are there easier routes on Shetland for newbies to improve on? Does the club visit them? Are there any bolted routes on Shetland? What rock type do you usually climb on? Is loose rock a problem? Im sure, given the rapidly changing nature of the weather on the Islands, climbing inevitably occurs in the wet, is this a biggie for a newbie? How often does the club meet and how many guys and gals are you?

Sorry for all these questions! Id be really pleased for your feedback as climbing is a hobby Im very keen to get into now.

All Best

Participant
    #10532 |

Hi Spiderman
    Shetland has all kinds of rocks and all grades of climbing from v.diff (fortunately for numpties like me) upwards, and a couple of bolted crags. We climb outdoors whenever the weather is OK, i.e. mainly in spring and summer – it isn’t always wet up here and we always welcome newbies

Participant
    #10533 |

Yup, agree with Jonathan. There are plenty of easier routes and a few “friendly” crags and yes, we go to those areas. Last year we developed a new crag which would make a superb venue for learning to lead.

That said, and this is true of sea cliffs generally, Shetland climbing can have a big, serious feel whatever the grade of climb. Eshaness may be single-pitch but anything more different from a Gritstone edge would be hard to find. You need to be able to look after yourself, which at the very least means being able to abseil safely and efficiently.